A Movie a Week: The Intouchables (2012)

intouchables___driss_2-1280x720 The-Intouchables-2011-1024x733 omar-sy-as-driss-in-the-intouchables-2011 91oHrC+w92L._SL1500_ francois-cluzet-as-philippe-in-the-intouchables the-intouchables preset_1_small vlc-2012-09-29-11-55-45-14 Intouchables.2011._snapshot_01.02.47_2012.04.08_23.12.45


I’ve been watching tons of movies since I started going out with Chinh. Dude watches shitloads of movies. But I’m not complaining because we have pretty similar tastes in movies. Netflix FTW. So the latest one we caught was The Intouchables, an easily digestable heart-warming French comedy-drama.

It didn’t make it into my list of favourites but it was pretty decent IMO; much less can be said about some of the Hollywood Blockbusters hogging the cinemas of late. I appreciated the subtle story-telling of The Intouchables. It felt unpretentious and zealous. I’ll like to shake the hands of the directors (Olivier Nakache and Éric Toledano) for giving the audience the benefit of doubt that we’re not mind-numbingly dumb. Hallelujah.

The casting was pretty immaculate, with Driss (played by Omar Sy) stealing the show. That dude is a natural badass with a ridiculously contagious laughter. His character is an easy one to like. The scene when Driss started poking fun at the opera singer dressed as a tree? Hilarious. And although Philippe (played by François Cluzet) is a character that can potentially turned insufferable very quickly, he didn’t. I liked that the writers didn’t overdramatise the fact that Philippe is a quadriplegic. Instead, they chose to focus on the positivity of the friendship between the two most unlikeliest of men. It’s not a life-changing movie by any means but it is a movie worth a watch for the simple fact that it makes you feel good. I didn’t roll my eyes once. At Chinh, maybe. But not at the movie. 😀 Oh, and did I mention that the music scores were composed by Ludovico Einaudi? Sold.


Leave a comment